About to be Destroyed
Norm Wrightsons Hairdressers has been at 7 William Street since 1933. Prior to that the shop was home to the famous Charles Nixon photographer from 1894 to 1933. Two businesses in 120 years!
Gerard O’Brien wants to relocate the hairdresser. The hairdresser doesn’t want to go. O’Brien wants this as the entry to his new brewery and wants to strip out the shops here and demolish the rear of all the shops.
He has allowed the rear of these heritage buildings to be painted without permission of the tenants to mask the heritage values of what remains.
Look at the single storied building with the very interesting air vent – probably part of the former Swansea Bicycle factory.
Save the Magic!
The hairdressers shop is unique. It is magic. It and nos 9 and 11 William should stay. AND it should have the double storey verandah on it restored as shown above when it was home to Fremantle’s famous photographer Nixon until Wrightsons moved in in 1933..
The development proposal covers all the Manning Estate shops that begin with these three shops in William Street (built in 1886 before the others) and continue through the Mall and down Market Street to the Newport Hotel.
The Fremantle Society is keen to see people spend money in Fremantle restoring and upgrading their properties but this developer wants to make major changes to the shops – knocking down the rear sections of all the shops (some of which have significant heritage), remove various staircases, insert a large brewery where Norm Wrightson’s is right outside the entrance to the Town Hall, and separate the second floor sections of the various shops from their ground floor sections.
Submissions due on the whole Manning Buildings development on Tuesday 28th at 5pm..
Comments to: email@example.com
And, to all councillors at: firstname.lastname@example.org